1 of 2
First time user of MMO. 
Posted: 18 March 2011 12:48 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2011-03-17

Hello everyone. I am new to site and MMO. In my younger days, I watched my grandfather put MMO in just about everything he could put it in.

I need some advise. I recently started hearing a lifter noise when I start my truck in the mornings. It will last 5 to 15 seconds and then stop.

First off the truck:
2004 Toyota Tacoma Prerunner Xtra cab. 2.7L 4 cyl. (holds 4.5 qt. of oil) I think the noise in the lifter is from sludge buildup.
I added 32oz of Lucas Oil treatment and 3.5 qt. of Castrol GTX Superior Sludge Protection, and a new filter.

If I do have buildup, is MMO the answer?

I need some tips.
Should I remove the oil pan, and clean the sludge out? Could my oil pump getting weak, or could my pickup tube be block by sludge?

If I were to put MMO in my oil now, how much do I add?
Do I need to drain some of the oil?
How often do I need to change the oil & filter, to aid in the removal of the sludge.
I under-sand that MMO works over time, and it can only make my engine cleaner, I just need some pointers.

Does anyone have any recommendations, or thoughts?

Maybe someone has had the same experience and can tell me how it went.

Thanks for your time,

Signature 

Bass1204

A bad day of fishing better than a good day of work!!!

Posted: 18 March 2011 02:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  265
Joined  2008-12-13

Drain out 20% of your oil and add back that much with MMO. Run that until your next oil change and see how the lifter noise goes.

Posted: 18 March 2011 04:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2010-11-06

I don’t believe your engine is one that is considered sludge prone.  In the short term I would change the PCV valve.  If your lifters are adjustable it may be that they are simply out of adjustment.  How many miles are on the vehicle?